Since I am on this "I leave on vacation so soon and can't concentrate," kick, I decided to tell one of my many travelling horror stories. It's comical now, but then, it was horrifying and tragic (cue sad violins, and I can begin pouting).
So I am 20 years old, in school 1500 miles away from home, and it's finally Christmas break. I am flying to spend my winter vacation with my madre (that's Spanish for mother, for all of you who aren't bilingual like me ;) ) in New Jersey (where, FYI, I have never been). So I arrive at the airport in the morning to take off, and I admit I am a little late, but it is literally like 55 minutes instead of the usual 60+ minutes I am there. The lovely lady behind the check-in counter tells me that I am too late to check in, and cannot board my flight. And all of the flights are full for the day, so I have to be put on stand by. Awesome. I breeeeeeeeeeeeze through security like it's nothing, and wait. And seriously, I watch my flight board and take off without me. So, the waiting game begins. I watch plane after plane leave... Without me. I start to get impatient as evening arrives, and I go to the counter, and I explain that I have been waiting all day, I'm 20 years old, and have no idea what is going on... They book me for the earliest flight in the morning, guaranteeing me a seat. Awesome. However, I am at the airport, about 2 hours from where I live, it's evening, and my flight is super early... So going home to wait it out is not really an option. So I begin calling my daddy (duh) totally freaking out because I'm clueless. He tells me I need to go to customer service tell them what's happening, so maybe they can do something for me. I wait in a line that is FOREVER long and I finally get to the front, and I am told that they have been offering everyone else who is in my situation hotel vouchers and restaurant vouchers. HOWEVER, because I am only 20 and not 21, they cannot do anything for me. So I, in near tears, ask what am I supposed to do then??? And the lady replies, "we have a room for minors with cots that you can stay in tonight." Um, so I am not old enough for a hotel room, but I am old enough to stay at the airport alone, in the minor room. Awesome. I cry. Call my dad again, pretty hysterical, because I have to sleep in the airport by myself, my phone is about to die, they won't let me have my luggage back and I have no money because I am a poor student. He consoles me, tells me to get what ever I need and put it on my credit card, and not to worry. So, I spent the night in the creepy airport, by myself. It was an awful awful night. And the next morning, my flight was delayed. It was awesome.
PS. I actually did make it to NJ.
PSS.On the way home, it happened again.
No comments:
Post a Comment