I want to tell you about a very awful, sad and horrific moment in my life... I call it "The Fiasco of '08" Not a whole lot of people know this about me, but it was for real, embarrassing and harsh. So sit back and relax with a nice cup of chai (because that's what I'm drinking), and let me tell you a story...
It was the summer of 2008, and I was home from school for the summer. I didn't really NEED a job, but I was open to the idea if I found one. I went to the mall one day to walk around, and happened to see that the perfume store was hiring, I thought 'Hey, I wear perfume, so why not?' I went in and filled out an application, and talked to the owner. He took me behind the counter to show me around, when a customer came in, and the boss man said 'Why don't you try helping this man out.' And I showed off my awesome perfume selling skills, and sold this man a bottle of cologne, at the store I didn't even work at yet (I know, be impressed). Needless to say I got hired. I actually really enjoyed the job, I loved helping the customers. Well one thing I didn't necessarily enjoy was my bosses father, who also worked at the store, except he didn't really work... He just sat outside the store on a bench and watched me to make sure I didn't screw up. He was a VERY intimidating man. He didn't speak english very well, and could be a little harsh. One day I closed, and he was showing me how to shut down the store, and then we walked out together. Except we didn't walk together, he walked ahead of me and didn't say a word. And once we got outside he headed straight for his car, so I yelled 'goodbye.' He didn't turn around, he didn't wave, he just raised his hand to the air, agressively. I promise I am not being dramatic, I'm sure he hated me (a little dramatic maybe). I cried as soon has I go into my car. He had a way of making me feel so belittled. The next time I worked, I decided I was going to be sweeter than honey to him, ya know, kill him with kindness. I dressed very nice and spent extra time to make sure I look professional (to be an exceptional employee) I get to work, and we're cutting pieces of paper to use as test strips (that's real), and I'm trying to make small talk (which is very complicated when you can't hardly understand the person you're talking to). AND THEN this conversation happens:
Boss Man's Dad: Do you like to bathe?
Me: Excuse me (umm, did I just hear what I think I heard)?
Boss Man's Dad: Do you like to bathe?
Me: You mean, do I take showers?
Boss Man's Dad: Yes.
Me: Yes I take a shower every day...
The man proceeded to tell me that my hair was a mess, and then I needed to fix it. And apparently that meant that I look like I don't 'bathe'. I was highly offended, and tried my hardest not to cry. Luckily he sent me on my break right after, and I called my dad and my best friend crying. I managed to get through the rest of the day, and then I went home and called my actual boss to tell him I quit. I told him that his father degraded me, and talked rudely to me often, and that I could not work under him any more. I also told him about the awkward bathing conversation. I don't think he understood me, because he said 'I didn't hire you for that.' Umm, you didn't hire me because I do or do not take showers?
Believe it or not, that job only lasted about 3 days. WORST. JOB. EVER.
No comments:
Post a Comment